top of page

yani's devlog #4

Hey again! I’m back again with a new development log. A lot seems to happen every single time I update, but this time, truly a lot has happened. Last time I updated it was before the winter break and my team and I was all experiencing a lot of burnout and general fatigue from working on our game. We were rushing to meet deadlines and overall just wanted to take a break from this project. After that, we all enjoyed a break and came back with fresh minds.

We’re continuing to meet with our Shadow Factory contact Keiran Lovett, who’s been amazing and an incredible source of invaluable information and advice. In addition, we’ve also continued to meet with our mentor Jose, and Keana and I have kept up our meetings with our art mentor Jon.  I truly feel thankful that I have so many wise and experienced people around me to help us grow and succeed.

We now have a name for our game: BooyoSitter! Our creatures are called Booyos, and the game starts with King Booyo descending from the sky and with a wave of his magic scepter, you gain a magic effect on your hands, and he asks a favour from you to take care of his children. After that, all the Booyos appear and with your magic hands, you can now touch and interact with them to keep them entertained while King Booyo is away on Kingly Business. After a while, King Booyo returns and thanks you for your generosity, and ascends to the sky once again.


King Booyo concept art by Keana Almario. Look at that beautiful, regal moustache.

As for myself, I’ve been mainly focusing on branding and design for our team. Before starting this 4th-year capstone, I didn’t realize how much time we would have to spend just keeping up with external deadlines and stuff like branding, social media, and web design. It takes more time than you think and underestimating the importance of these things can be a big mistake. For our team, we want to create a strong web presence so that people will recognize us when we start showing BooyoSitter at various conventions around Toronto.



Here’s the framework of our team’s website. All the assets and writing on here are a placeholder for now, they will be replaced with correct assets and writing later on.


https://twitter.com/hexabytegames/status/1091075013149687809?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1091075013149687809&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fgamedesign.sheridanc.on.ca%2Fwangyani%2F


A peek at the animations for our Booyo, by Keana Almario. Also, a glimpse at our new Hexabyte! Twitter.

I recently modeled some face meshes for our Booyo based on the A.I chart I’ve gotten from the designers. These are the emotion’s we’re planning on implementing in our game.


I modeled these in Maya based on concept art from Keana and also from a couple of animatics by James Pratt.

Needless to say, a lot has happened. The winter break felt like a breath of fresh air for Hexabyte! We’ve had a lot of good ideas since then, and I’m excited to see what happens next.

Bình luận


bottom of page